Hemp Cake for Horses?

Would anyone be able to answer a question on hemp cake? I have been feeding it to my racehorses, broodmares, and yearlings. I would like to know if there have been any studies done. I have also heard that if fed to young horses it may cause OCD. I would also like to know the proper amount to feed. I have been feeding approximately 2lbs per horse as a treat at night. They are all on Kentucky equine feeds. I also give 60cc of hemp oil to the working horses. Thanks, Ronda.

2 responses to “Hemp Cake for Horses?

  1. Hi
    I am in New Zealand, we have sport horses, over the cold months(Autumn/Winter) I feed them 2 types of chaff, 200gm hemp pellets, garlic and a half cup of commercial pellets once a day and hay twice a day.Our horses live outside all year round so have access to grass. It gets very cold in the south of New Zealand where we are.
    Our horses have been on hemp for about a year and they look fabulous, notably they hold their colour well, lots of comments.
    Over the spring/summer months as pasture can dry off they get a handful of hemp pellets a day, fed to them by hand – that’s it, nothing else and plenty of grass.
    I don’t know how it is processed in US but even if it is different I think 2lb is a lot unless your horses are working hard daily, you maybe able to save some money!!!!!

  2. It is perfectly safe and healthy to feed to all your horses. It is ludicrous to think it will cause OCD. A great web site is http://www.hempforhorses.com Laura Coleman

Post Your Question, Comment or Reply

