Oxalate Content of Hemp Seeds and Hemp Seed Milk

Can you tell me the oxalate content of hemp seeds and hemp seed milk?Thanks, Susan Owens

12 responses to “Oxalate Content of Hemp Seeds and Hemp Seed Milk

  1. This lack of oxalate information really is frustrating, considering the nutritional value of Hemp seeds, oil, etc. Especiallyl when you factor in what an excellent source of Omega 3/6 fatty acids hemp products contain. I think I will write a respected hemp seed supplier and suggest that they underwrite the test. Kym

  2. http://grayson-youarewhatyoueat.blogspot.com/2010/10/pumpkin-seed-milk.html
    This article states that Hemp seeds are “very high in oxalates.”

  3. It seems that all the plant based protein I’ve found is unfortunately high in oxalates. So, I too am wondering about hemp. Help please!

  4. Yes please, let us know!

    I am starting to use hemp milk and hemp protein powder, but need to watch my oxalate intake for Kidney Stones. The recommendation is to consume no more than 200mgs per day of Oxalate.

    So what would be most helpful is a milligrams per weight .

  5. I firmly believe in the healing powers of hemp and am so happy to have found this site. I will be following you all too learn more. I am also very interested to know oxalate content of hemp milk.

  6. that link does not work anymore I too would be interested in the content of Oxalates in rice milk and Hemp Milk

  7. That articlae doesnt say where in the plant oxalate is found. This would be usefull to know how much is found in hemp protien powder, seeds and milk.

  8. Mary Anne Madison

    The presence of oxalic acid in hemp seeds is mentioned at the website below.

    http://www.biomatnet.org/secure/FP5/F1187.htm

  9. Mary Anne Madison

    If anyone finds the answer, please let me know.
    Thanks

  10. If Hemp is to come back as a mainstram food…then the industry needs to act responsibley to consumers and research and inform the public about things like Oxalate content….I suffer from Kidney stones and I expect the Hemp Industry to list the Oxalate content, just like Rubarb,Spinach,and other foods.

  11. Good question, Susan. I was looking for the same answer. I know hemp is high in protien and GLA… good for toxin removal and to fight inflammation, but I can’t find the oxalte value anywhere.

Post Your Question, Comment or Reply

